From Cthulhu to an Army of One? Hoo Rah! The Faithful Shall Be Consumed First!

So we start this next segment of the blog with a viewing of one of my paintings I’ve managed to scan in and touch up a bit in photoshop. (but not by much).

See? This particular piece came about by way of what I like to call, “Happy Accidents but Subconciously knowing you went there”.

So yea, I can’t get all Bob Ross on you, that guy’s just too smoothe!

So I was doing a series of watercolor paintings for some sketch cards for the upcoming Dan Con show back in 2014, (I will be tabling at 2015’s show as well!), and this was my working palette. Yup, all my left overs just sitting there and as you can see I was working in a certain value scale. Well I liked what I saw and though, it’d be a shame to trash it. I decided to go ahead and take a white out gel pen and throw down some contours.

I drew on top of the painting and pulled out this beastly aka. Cthuhlu!

A print or two later and we’ve got some nice work that we scanned in and polished up!

bigcpainting1hires

So this piece has seen it’s day in a few variations….so for an artist what more can I do? How else can I push it? I mean, Push it real good!

POPCTHUL

Well more iconic/pop posters for sure! Okay, I’m on board. Buuuut, what else can we do with those textures. There’s alot of wild stuff happening there right?

Enter my new college logo. SNHU.EDU!

snhulogoarmyofmarine1

We were assigned this logo to play with and learn us some tools via Adobe Photoshop. I decided to use the original scan from the painting in some fashion. I meant to put it within the circle that you now see red, but thankfully if it weren’t for happy accidents in art, I’d never catch a cab to a breakthrough!

I ended up copy/pasting the painting in the background and looove the textures.

See I grew up in a military family. We were often moving where ever the Marines Corps. thought fit to station us. So while I knew I had issues with authority I still embraced certain disciplines that you honestly can’t avoid due to sheer exposure. (Yea, I might be talking about the Simpsons too at the sametime I realized I was a Marine brat!).

At the end of the day when I decided to finally choose my next leg of education I chose Southern New Hampshire University (online).

I realized that I needed to get back in the game and be the first one in on the beaches of my fear of graphic design applications. Knowing that now as an older, family man, this path might also mean that I truly was also an army of one though I like to think I’ve had se eral helpful infantry along the way mind you.

-J.M. Hunter

Leave a Reply

